Ladies and Gents – The Bookmobile!

Acre Bookmobile, Israel

Acre Bookmobile, Israel

This is our local mobile library. Its aim is to reach distant areas in the town and spread the magic of reading among children of Jewish and Arab ethnicity, in a literary coexistence. It travels the town, stops and camps out in the open air with book shelves, carts, bean bags, matts, and other cultural activities – what a delight, just read!

Here are some astonishing Bookmobiles around the world!

Bookmobiles around the world

Bookmobiles around the world

Tagged , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Ladies and Gents – The Bookmobile!

  1. We have those in India too. They are usually theme based though. Did you know there is a floating library? It’s a ship that’s been turned into a library. It docked in near my home once. I liked the picture of the donkey carrying books. Funny!

    • Anna says:

      Yes, I’ve seen a photo of a ship library. Would’ve been interesting to see a photo of the ship in Kerala. I’ve also laughed at the picture of the donkey, The Biblio Mule πŸ™‚

  2. That’s a nice way to put it – The Biblio Mule – You’re funny. πŸ˜€
    Here is a link for the photo of the Logos hope (that’s the name of the ship) in Cochin – http://www.forum.kochinow.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=13&start=220
    It’s got other pictures of Cochin too, so you’ll have to scroll down a bit.
    I don’t know if the link will work over there. Any way, I’m sure the Ship looks the same in Cochin as it does anywhere else in the world. πŸ˜€

    • Anna says:

      ‘The Biblio Mule’ is a term from the site I got it from… πŸ™‚ I’ve seen the photos, but it’s more interesting to see it from the inside. On the outside it looks like a regular ship…

      • I regret not going in when it docked here. search for logos hope. you’ll find some info on the net about it. has it ever come to Israel?

      • Anna says:

        Wow, it looks great inside! A floating book store is an awesome idea. I don’t know of any book ship floating at the Israeli coast. Although I do live in an ancient, historically fundamental harbor town.. I’ll be writing about it soon.

  3. Forest So Green says:

    We also have a bookmobile, it is an old bus. I like your blog πŸ™‚ Annie

  4. I had an idea for this in France but had to put it out of my mind because of the difficulty of doing it here. So hard to to create and run a business in France.

Blurb what's on your mind

