DO NOT DISTURB! | Sheth’s Perspective

DO NOT DISTURB!

posted in Poetry by ShethP

Lights dimmed,

Book in hand.

Sitting in a cuddle,

In a faraway land.

Squinted eyes,

Clenched grip.

Pages rustle,

To the rhythm of lips.

Tensed air,

Heart beating fast.

Only thought is,

Who will last?

Nimble fingers,

Flipping pages.

Eyes darting,

Seems like ages.

Last chapter,

No words left.

Journey ends,

We sit bereft.

Regaining sense,

Back to reality.

Hungry again,

For such sensuality.

– ShethP

via DO NOT DISTURB! | Sheth’s Perspective.

Tagged , , ,

17 thoughts on “DO NOT DISTURB! | Sheth’s Perspective

  1. That is exactly how I felt when I was reading lord of the rings. Great poem.

    • Anna says:

      Yes, I think so too. He described the exact feelings in the reading process, while reading something extremely interesting. You’re absorbed into it completely. What are you reading at the moment?

      • last temptation of christ by kazantzakis. What about you?

      • Anna says:

        Interesting choice, I’ve just read that it’s a banned book? Many great books were banned in some time or another. What I’m reading? It’s a difficult question because I’m usually reading several at once, or bits from many books. Lately I’ve been reading about Russian art, Israel’s history, Dante’s La Vita Nova and more.

      • Wow. Heavy stuff. I could never wrap my head around Dante.
        Yes I agree, some books are banned. Eg: Salman Rushdie’s Satanic Verses – It’s very difficult to get a hold of that book in India.

      • Anna says:

        ye, Dante is heavy. I enjoy just reading a few lines, even if I don’t fully understand the meaning. Like I do with Shakespeare. Although his beautiful sonnets are easier for me to grasp. You know, Rushdie’s book is very intriguing. If you could easily get it, would you read it?

      • I’ve already read Rushdie’s book ‘Midnight’s children’. It’s about the ind-pak partition. it’s set in Kashmir mostly. Beautiful book.
        I can get bootlegged copies of Satanic verses from the street hawkers easily. But the print is never good, the pages stick together, and sometimes whole chapters are missing. It can ruin the experience of reading the book. So i’ve decided to try and find the original.

      • Anna says:

        ye, it’s a terrible reading experience. I’d love to read it as well, because it’s about some serious and relevant issues of our time. We could’ve read it at the same time if it would have worked out..

      • Is Satanic verses available in Israel? I have been thinking about buying a kindle. Once I do that, I can easily get my hands on an original copy from amazon.
        I agree. Reading it at the same time would be fun. We could exchange our favourite quotes as we finished each chapter. I have always wanted to do that, but I’ve never met anybody crazy enough to do it with. 😀

      • Anna says:

        Hey, I’m pretty crazy 😀 I’d love it If we can pull it off. No pressure, our own pace. And we could do a mutual post about it maybe, like a mutual review. In Israel there’s no problem to get it. A kindle can actually be a good thing at times.
        Krishnan, is it ok If I ask what’s your age?

      • OK then. I was on the fence about the whole kindle thing. But now you’ve helped me make up my mind. I’ll buy and it, and let you know when I’m ready.
        My age? Its’ not a secret. 😀 I’m 26. I’ve written about it in the About Me page of my blog.

      • Anna says:

        Funny, I, of all people, helped someone make their mind about buying a kindle! hahaha Ok, it’s a deal. I’ll get the book. Of course I’ve read your About page, I guess I just missed your age and besides, there isn’t much info on there. I’d like to know more about you.

      • It really is funny how that worked out. I remember you wrote a post about ‘I hate kindle’!
        I know I haven’t described myself very well. I want to keep my blog private because I did not want to turn it into another version of Facebook 😀
        I want to know more about you too. Send me a mail at
        krishnanpnair@hotmail.com
        Unless you don’t want to do that…I just don’t think the comments section is the best place to get to know each other. 😀

      • I’ve replied to your mail. may be it is in your junk folder.

  2. ShethP says:

    Thank you for reblogging! I appreciate it… 🙂

Blurb what's on your mind

