Karenina

Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.

The novel is set in 19th century Russia. It is about the tragic love and fate of a high society aristocrat, Anna Karenina. Being already married to an elder man, Karenin, Anna falls in love with the charming young officer, count Vronsky. From there on her life changes for ever. The story is enriched with the relationships of other surrounding characters and the strong powers of their feelings, which lead their lives. Just by telling the story, Tolstoy educates and warns the reader of the great danger in emotions gone wild.

This is my copy of Anna Karenina, the great classic Russian novel by Leo Tolstoy. This volume was printed in Soviet times, in the age of Big Brother, the Communist regime of SSSR, in April 1979. 80,000 copies were printed during that edition. It cost nearly 5 Rubles, which was a lot of money at the time. It is in a cloth cover with a golden stamp surrounding the illustrated figure. It has about 610 pages. The text is printed in a small intimidating font, typewriter style. A worthy challenge and a must-read for any book lover.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Karenina

  1. Lea Jurock says:

    That’s a beautiful copy!

  2. Letizia says:

    What a great edition. I love the illustrations. and I love what you write about the font being “intimidating.” What an interesting concept, but I understand what you mean; those challenging fonts that make reading physically challenging. Do you speak Russian – are you able to read Tolstoy in the original? Unfortunately, I don’t, so I’ve only read him in translation.

    • Anna says:

      Letizia, thanks for your kind words. I’m glad you liked the edition. I do know Russian and I can read it in this original version (slightly modified from the 19th century Russian). A fact that makes me ashamed of not reading it sooner. It’s not completely easy for me though. Since 5 years old I grew up in Israel. I think that some literary masterpieces cannot be translated, but a translated Tolstoy is much better than not reading Tolstoy at all… I think French is a beautiful and difficult language to master.

  3. Oh my, that is a beautiful book — what a treasure!

    • Anna says:

      Thank you Ann, I agree. It IS a treasure. Especially since it’s a relic from another time, another place and another life.

Blurb what's on your mind

